Sakic Grabs Awards

Archived from 2000-01 season.

2001 NHL Award Winners

NHL teams

Joe Sakic, the captain of the Stanley Cup champion Colorado Avalanche won the Hart Trophy as league MVP and Lady Byng trophy for gentlemanly play at the annual NHL awards show.

"It's nothing like the kids, but after the Stanley Cup, this has been a fun night," said Sakic, who has 7-month old twins . "I couldn't imagine a better week in the game of hockey. When I look back when my career is over, this is a time I will cherish."

Earlier Sakic also won the Lester B. Pearson Award as the NHL's most valuable player as voted on by the players.

"This is the biggest honor any player could have," Sakic said. "To be voted by all the players, to get the respect from them is something I'll never forget."

Buffalo's Dominik Hasek won the Vezina Trophy as outstanding goaltender for the sixth time.

San Jose goaltender Evgeni Nabokov, who had a .915 save percentage in 66 appearances with the Sharks, was chosen the top rookie. Nabokov, 25, is the first goaltender to win the Calder Trophy since New Jersey's Martin Brodeur in 1994.

Bill Barber, who took over the Philadelphia Flyers last Dec. 10 after Craig Ramsay was fired, and led them to a 31-13-7-3 record in 54 games, was voted coach of the year.

"I'm obviously very honored and flattered to be here," Barber said. "I never really expected this. It's a memorable moment for me, especially since I'm just getting my feet wet at the NHL level."

New Jersey's John Madden, in only his second full season in the NHL, took the Selke Trophy as the top defensive forward. Madden, 26, had a plus-24 rating and beat out Sakic and Dallas' Mike Modano.

Forward Adam Graves of the New York Rangers received the Bill Masterton Trophy for perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.

Sakic, Hasek, Lidstrom, Bourque, Jagr and Patrik Elias of the Devils were voted first-team all-stars. The second team featured Lemieux, Stevens, Cechmanek, Colorado's Rob Blake, Los Angeles' Luc Robitaille and Florida's Pavel Bure.

The all-rookie squad had Nabokov, Havlat, Richards, Shane Willis of Carolina, Lubomir Visnovsky of Los Angeles and Colin White of New Jersey.

Contact The HockeyNut - Front Page - Archive

Copyright©1997-2001 The HockeyNut