Fuhr, LaFontaine Elected To Hockey Hall Of Fame

Archived from 2002-03 season.

NHL teams

Goalie Grant Fuhr was elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame with forward Pat LaFontaine, Detroit Red Wings owner Mike Ilitch and junior team coach Brian Kilrea.

Fuhr was the goaltender for the Edmonton Oilers in the 1980s when they won five Stanley Cups playing a wide open style of hockey.

"It's a fabulous honor," said Fuhr. "It's the topping on which was the most enjoyable of things to do for a living. This is the ice cream on the cake."

Fuhr helped the Oilers to championships in 1984, '85, '87 and '88 and was a backup on the 1990 Stanley Cup winner. The other Oilers of that era in the Hall of Fame are Wayne Gretzky and Jari Kurri.

LaFontaine had 468 goals and 545 assists in 865 career games with the New York Islanders and Rangers and the Buffalo Sabres.

"To be in such an exclusive club is overwhelming," he said. "Growing up in St. Louis, I always played for the love of the game and never dreamed this could ever lead to my being a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame."

Ilitch, who also owns baseball's Detroit Tigers and the Little Caesars pizza chain, has own the Red Wings since 1982.

"I am proud to have supported amateur hockey and proud of the Red Wings organization we have built in Detroit over the past 20 years," Ilitch said.

Kilrea reached 1,000 wins this season behind the Ottawa 67s' bench, making him only the second hockey coach to surpass that mark, behind the NHL's Scotty Bowman. Kilrea, 68, just finished his 26th season coaching the 67s.

Contact The HockeyNut - Front Page - Archive

Copyright©1997-2003 The HockeyNut