Lightning Grab Awards

June 11, 2004

NHL teams

Three members of the Cup winning Tampa Bay Lightning won honors at the annual NHL Awards presentation in Toronto.

Martin St. Louis won the biggest prize as the league MVP on top of the Art Ross Trophy as scoring champion and, earlier in the day, he won the Lester B. Pearson Award as most outstanding player as selected by his peers.

"It's going to be a tough year to top," said St. Louis. "I don't know if it means I'm the best player in the NHL. There are a lot of great players and to be considered among them is very flattering."

Tampa Bay coach John Tortorella was named winner of the Jack Adams Trophy as the top coach and Brad Richards won the Lady Byng Trophy for sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct. Richards earlier won the Conn Smythe Trophy as the playoff MVP.

New Jersey's Brodeur was named best goalie for the second year in a row. Fifteen of the 30 NHL general managers picked Brodeur for the Vezina Trophy. Calgary's Miikka Kiprusoff was runnerup.

"I've got to hold onto these two because it's going to be hard to win any more with all the good young goalies coming up," Brodeur said.

Detroit's Kris Draper won the Selke Trophy for best defensive forward.

"I'm in some unbelievable company in winning the Selke Trophy," Draper said. "Everything I've always done is team oriented and it's going to continue to be that way but to be singled out as the Selke winner is really special."

Contact The HockeyNut - Front Page - Archive

Copyright©1997-2004 The HockeyNut